Welcome to Hemet Sunshine

This pizza was cooked entirely by sunshine in a reflectorless solar cooker.  Total cook time was 2-1/2 hours at 200°F.  This oven was made in two hours and has been in use since September 3rd, 2010.  I made it to help another mom see that she could make a solar oven while her youngest child was taking a nap!  I used a yard stick, scissors and a box cutter.

Solar cooking is useful for lowering your summer electric bill.  By cooking outside with your BBQ or solar cooker you keep the cooking heat outside, and will need less electricity for air conditioning.  It is also useful to have another way to cook during an extended power outage.  A BBQ is wonderful, but requires intense supervision to cook safely.  A solar cooker does not require supervision, uses free fuel, and can be treated like a crock pot (just load it and leave it).

I have solar cooked off and on since 1995.   I created this blog to explain solar cooking without reflectors since it is among the easiest ways to solar cook, but it is also rare due to misinformation.    The photos are of my solar cooker and the information is from my first-hand research.    I am frustrated with the misinformation about solar cooking and hope my blog will illustrate that the hardest thing about solar cooking is believing it works.

I am also using this blog as a place to organize my notes on emergency preparedness, and opportunities or information that benefit the San Jacinto valley.

If you are a homeschooler, please also visit my other blog at http://hemetsonshine.wordpress.com.

* * *

September 8, 2012 update – The first copy-cat of my trashcan cooker was made by Jessica who lives in Georgia.  Although she is dealing with a lot more humidity, her oven reached 200 F often.   Wednesday morning I was emailed a picture of another copy of my trashcan cooker by Charlotte, who lives in Romoland.    We are just giggling with glee over our super, simple ovens.   It is so encouraging to me to hear my friends are solar cooking!

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Welcome to Hemet Sunshine

  1. I am busy homeschooling mom. I will update when I have time to do so. I have several photos to upload which I hope to post soon. I recently received my electric bill and was so excited! It was $16.45. I am so grateful that solar cooking meals can make such a dent in my electric bill. I have always been thrifty, but this was a big savings I did NOT expect!

  2. Rebecca says:

    I was in your solar cooking class at the library (so long ago) and am FINALLY doing one! I forgot the lid part though–did you just use a piece of glass? I have the bottom part done and am tempted to just put the garbage can lid on top too LOL!

    • Glass that comes off storm doors or RVs is best because it is thin and tempered. Sorry for the late reply. I replied the day I approved your message. I just noticed that my post did not go through. I hope you are solar cooking.

Leave a Reply

