A Round Box Cooker, Part 1 – Durable Shell

A steel trash can

Wood will keep the heat inside the cooker better than metal, but I do not have carpentry skills, and I already owned this trash.  Of course, a barbecuer would have looked nicer.  The reason I made a box cooker that would fit into a trash can was because cardboard can not be left outside exposed to moisture.  I also did not want to use any type of plastic for fear of it off gassing into my food.  I do NOT recommend a metal shell for your solar oven.   I show this so you can see how little you have to work at building a solar oven.

I needed to leave my solar oven outside year round so that I could just walk the food in and out of the house.   The extra step of carrying the cooker in and out was too much extra work for me.

This cooker was made within two hours.  I made it September 4th, 2010 after the cardboard box cooker had too much moisture and needed to dry out before its next use.

The next series of posts will show how I made this so you can adapt what I have done to make your own cooker.

I was told the reason it is better to have a wooden box rather than a metal one is because metal conducts heat.   The heat from inside the oven can escape easier through this conduction.   Fortunately I did not know that the day I made it or I might not have even tried to make it.

Here is the oven I really want, but don’t have the skills to make.  I have the glass.  I have a plan to team up with a talented friend to make this.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGUsydm5NU4

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in My Solar Cookers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

