A Round Box Cooker, Part 3 – Insulation

Cardboard is good for insulation. I like that I can get as much as I need for free and can cut it with scissors.

The amount of insulation is supposed to be 1″-2″.   Cardboard is easy to replace if it gets damaged (usually by moisture).

I only insulated with one or two layers of cardboard because I was in a hurry!   I wanted to see what would be the least amount of time and effort to have an inexpensive working cooker.  I have always meant to add at least an inch more insulation to the sides so I could get higher temperatures on chilly days, but I am a busy mommy.

I was hoping the steel would absorb and hold heat long enough for the extra insulation to not be vital.   This turned out to be true.

This cooker took two hours to build.  I cooked raw chicken and potatoes the day it was made.  It has been in frequent use ever since.

Hurrah for the lazy builder!  I have chronic pain and have to pace myself so the easiest way is the only way I am going be able to do this, and get my overwhelmed homeschooling mommy friends to join me!

For more about insulation, go to:

http://solarcooking.wikia.com/wiki/Heat-retention_cooking

http://www.iwillprepare.com/index_files/Wonder_Box.htm

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in My Solar Cookers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

