A Round Box Cooker, Part 6 – Baking Stone

The darker the better the baking stone

Baking stone D was purchased for $4 at Grocery Outlet in Hemet about 8 years ago.   I stored it in the oven so it caught all the spills in the oven.  This made it nice and dark.  This no-name stone is well-seasoned and non-stick.

Baking stones A-C are Pampered Chef stones that my friends swear are the best for durability and non-stick.   One is on loan from a friend who is now a missionary to Thailand.   One cost a dollar at Mission Thrift store in Hemet.    And one cost $5 at Salvation Army Hemet.

Baking stone C is the reason I took this photograph.  I wanted to compare its color to the others.

Baking stone “C” didn’t take years of seasoning to get it dark.    I stained and am happy with the results.   A friend has a Mulberry tree that is producing more fruit than she can pick.  I scooped some off  the ground, rinsed and solar cooked it to mush.  I painted my stone with the juice and baked on the stain in hopes of it being a permanent stain.   The stones smells yummy and it is much darker.

If you try this.   The best results were on the unseasoned parts of the stone because the juice could not stain as well where the oil was the most baked in.   Stone “C” was the lightest stone until its makeover.

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in My Solar Cookers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

