Solar Cooking Without Reflectors, Part 2

This shows beans in canning jars and potatoes in a sauce pan.

My first reflectorless solar cooker was built out of sheer frustration.  I wanted to solar cook, but didn’t have the time to find the cardboard that was both big enough and sturdy enough to make the lid with a reflector (that is supposed to be so necessary).

Since I already had this screen door window, I just put it over the box.  I placed a thermometer in the cooker and prayed.   I needed it to reach at least 200°F and maintain that temperature for at least two hours to meet most of my cooking needs.

It reached nearly 300°F and stayed there for well over two hours!  I was happy and mad all at once.  I was happy this worked and mad that I didn’t test this sooner.   My conclusion is that the people who wrote about the box cooker are not from Hemet.   I can solar cook without reflectors due to the crystal clear sunny days we have.

Reflectorless cookers are not new.  They were known nine years before USA became a country!   In 1767, Horace de Saussure set out to determine how effectively glass traps sunshine.  Imagine if his research had been expanded upon back then.  I think a lot less deforestation could have been a likely result.   You can read about Horace de Saussure here.

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in My Solar Cookers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

