A Round Box Cooker, Part 7 – Lid

This lid is a 27" x 28" piece of framed glass that came off a screen door. It is resting on a 20" diameter trash can. This picture is blurry because I shot it from the other side of my laundry room door window. I wanted to show how I check my food without letting a/c air escape. The cooker is at almost 200°F.

A glass lid is ideal for my stay-outside-cooker because it is heavy enough to stay put on windy days.  It can survive pelting rain.  And it is clear enough so I can watch my food cooking.    I already had this glass window so I used what I had.

I don’t bother switching the glass lid with the trash can lid each night because the glass has been so durable.  I know this because of the numerous times I forgot to make the switch!   Because the glass is always in place my solar cooker is always on.  I just have to remember to load it with food.

My son thinks every day is good day to bake cookies so he bakes one cookie a day when his finishes his school work.  Of course, mom and dad do not mine if he cooks one for them as well.

My cardboard box cooker (pictured in the my post, “What’s a Reflector”) has a roasting bag because I needed the cooker to be as light as possible.   A turkey-size Reynolds roasting bag makes a nice lid that will last about a year.   They are sold for about $1 each.   I buy them on sale in November.

At 19″x 23-1/2″, this is the largest bag available.  For convenience, I made my cooker with the outer box at the same size and the inner box 1-1/2″ smaller than the turkey-size bag.  The bag can be split and opened to make a larger box cooker, but the plastic sags a little and it is awkward to carry a bigger box in and out of the house daily.

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in My Solar Cookers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Round Box Cooker, Part 7 – Lid

  1. Kelli says:

    Maybe I am trying too hard, from the looks of this. I have been trying my best to build a solar cooker and haven’t been able to sustain a cooking temp. yet. How does this do when the sun goes behind a cloud?

    • Because I do not use reflectors, I have to rely heavily on the principles of heat-retention cooking. All that to say: the baking stone is CRITICAL. The stone helps hold the cooking temperatures during cloud coverage. Today I put a pizza crust, made with 4 cups of dough, in the cooker. Without the stone, that much mass (quantity of food) would be a little bit uncooked on the bottom.

Leave a Reply

