Egg Preservation

My interest in the preserving eggs was rekindled recently.  I was at a Valentine Party at the park when a friend who knows I love to know about food preservation told me about a show on National Geographic called, “Doomsday Preppers.”

I have plenty of power outages so I am all for preparing for them.   December 2011 was the most recent power outage.  It was caused by strong winds.   The others are usually caused by summer heat waves.

I was jazzed to learn that I can safely store eggs up to 9-12 months in the pantry by coating them with mineral oil.     For complete instructions and information on this please visit Kellene Bishop’s site, “Preparedness Pro “.

Kellene, thank you so much for all the time and effort you have put into prepping and sharing what you have learned!

I will definitely experiment with this, and post an update with instructions based on my own experience.  So far I already knew I could store eggs outside of the refrigerator for up to three weeks, and I knew how to test their freshness by watching them sink in water.

Meanwhile, here are the posts from Hemet Moms Yahoo group on the best sale on eggs I have ever encountered.   I am adding this just for fun.   Sadly, I only purchased 22 dozen eggs when I had the opportunity to purchase three times as much.

* Sunday, October 24, 2010 7:06 PM   HURRY!!!!! — 35c/dozen eggs @ Save-A-Lot — Sale ends 8:50pm tonight

* Sunday, October 24, 2010 7:19 PM   The sell by date is today, so they will be thrown out after sale.I will probably make many 2-egg omelets.   I fold and freeze them so they will used later inside a tortilla.   Frozen eggs are good for 6 months in freezer.   They take 30 seconds to re-heat in the microwave.  I cook a fresh tortilla on the stove, add the re-heated egg, and other toppings.    This is one of my family’s favorite fast meals.    BTW, I chop and brown onions, then store them in a fridge for topping on eggs.

* Sunday, October 24, 2010 11:46 PM   Okay, this was so extraordinary a deal, MM and I went back to the store.   We are so blessed!   We were already discussing Once-A-Month-Cooking (OAMC) with whatever was on sale.    We have found loads of yummy egg recipes to make in bulk and freeze.   But first I wanna set aside some for future cooking sessions.   I found information on how to freeze eggs at this site:  http://whatscookingamerica.net/Eggs/FreezingEgg.htm

* Monday, November 1, 2010 7:40 AM     I just spent $50.40 (and can return it) on the part that my oven may need to replace.   I hope to know by that night or next day if this is what my oven needs.   An out-of-work friend is helping me with my oven for free.  Fortunately, I was able to give him 8 dozen eggs.

* Friday, December 3, 2010 9:38 AM    I just pour the eggs into canning jars and froze them whole and unshelled.   I thawed a dozen for a 9×13-sized casserole I made for a Thanksgiving feast with my homeschool group.    It was a big hit.   There wasn’t even a tablespoon of crumbs left it was so enjoyed.Before freezing, I was too lazy to stir the eggs.   When they thawed, the whites were fine, but the yolks were as firm as firm jello.  I took me more time to mashed the yolks than it would taken for me to have stir them up properly before freezing.   I didn’t want to have clean my blender so I didn’t bother using it this time, but it would have done the job better.If you would rather use mostly egg whites and give the egg yolks to your pets, it is very easy to separate the yolks from the whites.   Looking forward to the next great sale on eggs!

* Wednesday, December 8, 2010 11:27 AM   I found that I can smash a yoke quicker by itself, than spoon in enough whites to get 1/4 cup per egg in a recipe.

Additional Information

Here are a couple of unique uses for eggs.     Not exactly related to preservation.   I just want to compile uses here until I have enough for a separate post.

Century Egg.  The Century Egg is an egg buried in dirt and minerals for several months, then served as a delicacy.   It was yummy.  I am still alive.   And I didn’t even get a tummy ache.   I ate one of those while in 1990 in China as a dinner guest. The host was a man who was a bellhop at the hotel a friend and I had stayed.   He said this was a regular food in China.   Ever since then, I  wondered if Dr. Suess’ Green Eggs and Ham was inspired by this bright emerald green egg.

Egg Fertilizer for Tomatoes.  I thought I read, in Sunset Magazine many years ago, that eggs are good fertilizer for tomatoes.  The instructions are to plant a whole tomato in the bottom to the hole before planting the tomato plant.   I only found one discussion on this on the internet and it was at Wild Life Gardner so I am wondering if this was advice was proven to be bad.  I hope it is good because it would be nice to put bad eggs to good use.   You will notice my blog advocates no waste.   I am OCD on this point.   I look at waste and wonder if there is a use for it.  I am fortunate to get an abundance of eggs straight from the farmer so I will continue add unusual uses for eggs here.

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in Preserving Foods. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

