Garden In A Bucket

Each spring I think of starting a garden and then something happens.   This year science fair, bible quiz and exceptional, not-to-be-missed field trips happened.   Will I establish a garden this year?    I don’t know, but at least I have five double-bucket sets drilled out and ready for planting.    I have started gardens in the past, then discovered that I have the smartest, most athletic gophers in town.   At least it feels that way when friends tell me about their wonderful gardens.   I have not tried bucket gardening.  I am hoping it will solve my gopher problem.   I like that it uses 50-80% less water than traditional gardening, and I am encouraged with the automatic watering system.   What I am not so keen about is growing food in plastic, even food-grade plastic, but I need an easy garden set up.   If I get into it, then I will build raised beds with wire mesh bottoms.   From personal experience, I learned that buckets can withstand direct sunshine for about three years before becoming too brittle.   The buckets last longer with sun protection (bucket skirts).

The Global Bucket’s blog videos are my favorite instructions here they are in order:

Additional Resources

There are 49 resources for “container garden” at our local library.  I have read several of them.  The following favorites are all available at the library:

  • “The Vegetable Gardener’s Container Bible” by Edward C. Smith.  The challenge with bucket gardening is choosing plants that will thrive in a 5-gallon bucket. This book is exclusively about container gardening and can be the only book you will need.  It is very important to use the right soil for bucket gardening.  This discusses that in great detail.
  • “All New Square Foot Gardening” by Mel Bartholomew.    His book has a huge guide for what will fit in a square foot.  A bucket uses about a square foot of space so this makes the book a handy shopping guide while drooling over those gorgeous seed catalogs.
  • There are numerous links for square foot gardening. Here is one I like: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJ-eGtlAS2k&feature=relmfu.

Update

March 27th, 2012 – I just read about re-growing celery at Chickens In The Road.   This will pair well with my son’s botany lessons it sure looks easy.  Here are the instructions:

1.  Cut off bottom few inches of one bunch of celery.

2.  Set the bottom right-side up in a saucer of warm water overnight.

3.  Dig shallow hole, fill it with water, set celery bottom in hole, cover it with about an inch of soil and water thoroughly.

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

