Alternative Energy Advances

I don’t hear much about Fukushima anymore, yet this is a life-changing devastating event that happened in Japan and can easily happen at San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station.  This site draws the comparison http://sanonofresafety.org/fukushima.

The good that came out of this horrible disaster is the best and brightest of Japan are now laser-focused on non-nuclear energy sources.    Their never again attitude is admirable.    I wish we would learn from them, rather than allow the same disaster befall us.

The San Jacinto Valley should be a leader in alternative energy technology.   The natural hot springs for geothermal energy, the abundant sunshine for solar panels on every carport in town, and our legendary windstorms harnessed with windmills.   We even have surplus water that would be available for us in drought years, but is not due to lack of storage.

I know I am just dreaming.   I like dreaming of a Hemet with bike paths separated from car lanes.    I like dreaming of every drop of rain water recharging our groundwater instead of going down a rain gutter then out to the ocean.   I like dreaming about fruit and nut trees in commercial landscaping instead of the useless eye-candy.   I like dreaming about a healthier, well-educated San Jacinto Valley.

I am a momma.  I want my child to grow up in a better world than this.   I pray for the well-being of my family and my community.   I hope you to will pray, too.

Additional Resources

Where spending money, makes sense:

Little space available to store surplus water [10 July 2011]
http://www.pe.com/local-news/riverside-county/hemet/hemet-headlines-index/20110711-inland-little-space-available-to-store-surplus-water.ece

* * *

For a successful technology, reality must take precedence
over public relations, for nature cannot be fooled.
Nobel physicist Richard Feynman [1918-1988]

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in Energy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

