Hypertufa and Papercrete

Holey bricks!    I read about hypertufa in the FREE Lowe’s magazine, called “Creative Ideas.”    Here is an online version of the magazine http://lowescreativeideas.com/idea-library/projects/Hypertufa_Pots.aspx.

I think this is the coolest stuff and look forward to playing with it.  There are lots of different recipes.   Lowes has you buying everything, but the fine folks on You Tube give recipes that use newspaper where Lowes tells you to use perlite.

I am wondering if I can make a rocket stove with this stuff.  Since it is so holey, it seems to me it could handle the 1100 degrees F.  I just need to use a clean burning burn-out material like organic used coffee grounds instead of paper pulp or Styrofoam.

Papercrete has a similar description as hypertufa so I lumped them together in this post.  But truth is, don’t know what the difference is between them.   I am not ready to read any more on this topic at this time.   I am just getting this information out to a friend who is interested.

The following is from Papercreters at http://papercreters.blogspot.com:
Papercrete is a material made by pulping used paper. Papercrete almost always contains various additives (commonly sand and cement) and is formed or molded to a useable shape. After allowing it to dry for a few weeks, a lightweight and versatile building material results. To gain free access to everything papercreters has to offer, including the ability to post your own messages, a recipe database, photos, videos, and more, please visit: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/papercreters.

Here are my past posts where I talk about the light-weight refractory brick (they are also holey bricks) are at https://hemetsunshine.wordpress.com/?s=ceramic.   Holey bricks are important because the handle thermal shock better than a sold.   Cement is not recommend for fire brick because it cracks when heated, but I am wondering if that also true of papercrete.    All the mixes I have seen use about a 50:50 mix of filler to cement.

If you play with stuff, please let me know.  I would enjoy hearing about your project.   I told a friend today that this is how she could have the fuel efficiency of a rocket stove with the beauty of the very not-fuel efficient cob oven.

Later, when I have time I will add links to show the beautifully designed things people have made with this stuff.

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in Dirt, Clay, Cement, Shelters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

