Welding, Sintering, & Cooking With A Fresnel Lens

Dan Rojas of Green Solar Science posted yet another amazing solar experiment on May 16, 2013.   What Dan solar weld at up to 3800 degrees Fahrenheit with concentrated sunlight at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=drE54ctrHBY.

ABOUT THE FRESNEL LENS

The Fresnel lens was invented by Augustin-Jean Fresnel in 1821 to improve lighthouses.  Then some genius made a linear Fresnel for a rear-projection television.  Today, Fresnels have a devout following of backyard scientist who dream up things to do with it.  If you like this sort of thing, I have good news for you!  You can gather a Fresnel lens for FREE!  If you want to chat about Fresnels, visit the friendly folks at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/SolarCooking.   Meanwhile, the following explain where to get a Fresnel for FREE, how to frame it, and precautions you should NEVER, NEVER, NEVER FORGET:

SINTERING WITH A FRESNEL LENS

COOKING WITH A FRESNEL LENS

I am compiling these in chronological order so I can track the knowledge acquired through the trial and error of these solar pioneers.

Check back.  I will continue to add links to this post.  My son can’t wait to set fires and I want to make sintered sand/glass bricks for a garden wall.

* * *

Update May 28, 2013 – I just submitted this post to Frugally Sustainability per their request for “Basically, anything that you think will build and encourage our community.”  My whole blog fits that criteria.   I you appreciate the bloggers that take the time to offer solutions to our world’s problems, please visit http://frugallysustainable.com/2013/05/frugal-days-sustainable-ways-74.

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in Powered by Solar. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

