Planning For A Winter Garden

I like this blog for many reasons, but for now I want to point that it is time to plan for your winter garden.  For details, visit http://www.theprairiehomestead.com/2013/08/broccoli-in-december-how-to-get-started-with-a-fall-garden.html.

The following is a detailed list on what to be planting in August:

http://organicgardening.about.com/od/vegetablesherbs/a/Vegetables-And-Herbs-To-Plant-In-August.htm

We are fortunate here in Hemet to have a longer growing season.  For example, there is enough time to harvest seeds from ripe zucchinis and grow another batch!  We plan to start ours on Monday from non-GMO seeds from a local organic gardener.

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Planning For A Winter Garden

  1. Sheri says:

    I was thinking about a winter bucket garden! I just need to figure how to mix my dirt. The buckets will be the easiest way to keep the gophers out!

    Yes! I like the Prairie Homesteader too! Isn’t she great?

Leave a Reply

