Treadle On!

My son and I are fascinated with treadle sewing machines.  Did you know that treadle sewing machines from a hundred years ago can work today?   Yep, it’s true and of course there is a group of dedicated treadlers.   You can find them at http://www.treadleon.net.

One reason treadles went out of favor was because newer sewing machines offered more stitches.  In response to the Amish community, Janome created the Janome 712T Treadle Powered Sewing Machine in 2004.   It has 10 stitches and received great reviews.

Check out the world of treadling here:

About Hemet Sunshine

I am a homeschooling mom living in Hemet, California. I am interested in building a better community for the ones I love.
This entry was posted in Fabric, Powered by People. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment